top of page


CPSARA was formed by Charles Sanderson in 1986. Our aim is to offer sporting and recreational opportunities to people of all ages with Cerebral Palsy and other neurological conditions to participate in activities. First members joined at the Spastic Centre in Allambie Heights (now Cerebal Palsy Alliance).

Young Endeavour 033.JPG

Founding committee members included:

President: Charles Sanderson Vice President: Tom Organ Secretary: Chris Widdows Treasurer: Ian Henderson

Throughout its history, the Cerebral Palsy Sporting and Recreation Association has held many sporting events and come-and-try days. CPSARA athletes have also represented Australia and New South Wales in sports including Athletics, Swimming, Boccia, Cycling, Wheelchair Basketball, Cerebral Palsy Football (Soccer), Shooting, Powerlifting and Skiing.

1986 - CPSARA held its first event, which was the State Championships, held on the 9th and 10th of August. Sports included athletics and soccer at the Narrabeen Lakes Sport & Recreation Centre, and swimming at Warringah Aquatic Centre. 111 athletes competed across the 3 sports under 8 classifications; from CP1-CP8.


Athletics was the largest sport with 68 competitors. Field events on offer included Bean Bag Distance Throw, Bean Bag Precision Throw, Kick Ball, Club, Medicine Ball Thrust, Discus and Shot Put. The track events included 30m, 60m, 100m, 400m, 1500m and Slalom.

Soccer had 21 players competing to field three teams whilst swimming had 28 swimmers who competed in 25m Freestyle, 25m Backstroke, 25m Breaststroke, 50m Freestyle, 50m Backstroke, 50m Breaststroke, 100m Freestyle, 200m Freestyle and 3x25m Individual Medley.

1987 - CPSARA joined NSW Sports Council for Disabled as a member. Table Tennis and Boccia were added to the State Championships held over three days at the Seaforth Community Centre.

1989 - CPSARA had a very successful State Championships with over 200 athletes in attendance. Nine Junior CPSARA members were selected in the Australian Team for the World Youth Games in Miami: Alison Quinn, Lucy Williams, Kylie Rosemond, Kelly Sharp, Adam Kelly, Clinton Hall, Ronald Isherwood, Brett Bodlovic, and Justin Shaw. Dawn Fraser donated one of her medals to auction at a Fundraiser for the team. Dawn agreed for the medal to be used as a centrepiece on a trophy to be presented for the Outstanding Junior Swimmer Award.

CPSARA’s State Championships continued to grow and have great success until 1992, with the number of competitors rising each year. Membership numbers also grew steadily with 200 members registered by 1992.

1990 – Sunday morning club was introduced. It involved swimming at Mona Vale Hospital pool followed by indoor activities at Beacon Hill Community Centre and later at Weemala at Ryde Rehabilitation Centre. CPSARA sent teams to New Zealand National Championships for the Disabled. In 1990, CPSARA sent 9 athletes, 13 athletes in 1991 and 24 athletes in 1992. NSW teams also competed at CPASRF National Championships, Queensland Invitational Games and Junior Nationals for Athletes with a Disability.

1993 - All Disability Associations that were members of NSWSCD joined for a State Championships which was conducted by NSWSCD. CPSARA members competed at this until 2005, as well as at Swimming and Athletics Seasonal Meets conducted by NSWSCD and South West and Metropolitan West Regions.

1996-1999 - CPSARA Members represented NSW at Australian Multi Disability Championships in 1996 and 1997 and the Southern Cross Multi Disability Championships 1999. 

Over the years other sport and recreational activities were tried; archery, horse riding and tricycling. Intensive training camps were held at Narrabeen, where recreational activities were held such as Ten Pin Bowling.

CPSARA also began organising Come & Try days for water skiing, sailing, lawn bowls, and horse riding.

In more recent years, CPSARA has been organising CPSARA Connect Multi-Sport Social Days for People with a Disability as well as social gatherings and social tennis days with City Community Tennis. 

CPSARA athletes who have represented Australia at the paralympics


Stephen Gregson - Swimming,  Seoul 1988

Donald Turton - Boccia, 1988

Lee Gordon - Soccer, 1988

Wayne Maher - Athletics, 1988

Murray Parker - Boccia, 1988

Shane Ellsmore- Athletics, 1988

Ross Whyte - Athletics & Soccer, Seoul 1988 & Barcelona 1992

Burke Gibbons OAM- Boccia, Seoul 1988 & Barcelona 1992

Csaba Bobory- Boccia, 1992

Corey Molen - Boccia, 1992

Alison Quinn OAM- Athletics, Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996

Fiona Given - Boccia, 1996 

Geoff Clarke - Athletics, 1996

Dominic Collins - Swimming, Atlanta 1996 & Sydney 2000

Adrian Grogan OAM - Athletics, 1996 & 2000

Jim Nomarakas - Shooting, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004

Russell Billingham - Athletics, Sydney 2000

Denise Beckwith - Swimming, Sydney 2000

Lucy Williams - Swimming, Sydney 2000

Kim Neuenkirchen - Powerlifting, Sydney 2000

Paul Nunnari- Athletics, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000 & Athens 2004

Sian Lucas - Swimming, 2008

Peter Leek OAM - Swimming, Beijing 2008

Matthew Levy OAM Athens 2004, Beijing 2008London 2012, Rio 2016 & Tokyo 2020

Andrew Pasterfield OAM - Swimming, 2008 & 2012

Damien Burroughs OAM - Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000 & Athens 2004

Jayme Paris - Cycling, Beijing 2008 & London 2012

Jaqueline Freney OAM - Beijing 2008, London 2012

Simone Kennedy - Cycling, London 2012 & Rio 2016

Katherine Proudfoot - Athletics, Beijing 2008, London 2012, Rio 2016

Tamsin Colley - Athletics, 2016

James Turner - Athletics, 2016 & 2020

Amanda Reid OAM - Swimming, Rio 2016 & Cycling, Tokyo 2020

Gordon Allan - Cycling, 2020

Rae Anderson - Athletics, Rio 2016 & Skiing, Beijing 2022

Past & present CPSARA members who have received an Order Australia Medal (OAM) for their contribution to sport and/or for being a gold medallist at a Paralympic Games.

Margaret Gregson, Allan Gregson, Alison Quinn, Peter Leek, Matthew Levy, Andrew Pasterfield, Damien Burroughs, Jaqueline Freney, Katherine Proudfoot, James Turner, Amanda Reid

CPSARA Patrons and Life Members

CPSARA Patrons: Mike Gibson, Dawn Fraser AC, MBE, Darren Clarke, Paul Wade
Life Members: Margaret Gregson OAM and Allan Gregson OAM, Judy Webber, Bill Gurney, Brian Berry, Heather Berry, Nicki Ashton

bottom of page