CPSARA was formed by Charles Sanderson in 1986. The aim was to offer Sport and Recreational opportunities to people of all ages with Cerebral Palsy to participate in activities. First members joined at the Spastic Centre in Allambie Heights (now Cerebal Palsy Alliance).

Shadow on the Wall

Founding committee members included:

President: Charles Sanderson Vice President: Tom Organ Secretary: Chris Widdows Treasurer: Ian Henderson

Through it's history, CPSARA has held many sporting events and  come-and-try days for several sports. CPSARA athletes have also represented Australia and state teams in sports including athletics, swimming, cycling, wheelchair basketball etc. 

1986 - CPSARA held it’s first event. The State Championships, held on the 9th and 10th of August included athletics, swimming and soccer. 111 athletes competed across the 3 sports under 8 classifications; from CP1-CP8.

1987 - CPSARA joined NSW Sports Council for Disabled as a member . Table Tennis and Boccia added to State Championships.


CPSARA’s State Championships continued to grow and have great success until 1992, with the number of competitors rising each year. Membership numbers also grew steadily with 200 members registered by 1992.

1990 – Sunday morning club was introduced. It involved swimming, followed by other indoor activities. CPSARA sent teams to New Zealand National Championships for Disabled. In 1990, CPSARA sent 9 athletes, 13 athletes in 1991 and 22 athletes plus two blind athletes in 1992. NSW teams also competed at CPASRF National Championships, Queensland Invitational Games and Junior Nationals for Athletes with a Disability.

In more recent years, CPSARA began organising come and try days for water skiing, sailing, lawn bowls and horse riding. Other activities also tried by CPSARA members include: archery, horse riding, tricycling and ten pin bowling.

CPSARA athletes representing Australia


Robert Waldron

Ross Whyte

Burke Gibbons

Donald Turton

Lee Gordan

Csaba Bobory

Adrian Grogan

Matthew Levy

Andrew Pasterfield

Jim Nomarakas

Sian Lucas

Kim Neuenkirchen

Stephen Gregson

Zell Goldman

Wayne Maher

Murray Parker

Damien Bridges

Domenic Collins

Geoff Clarke

Peter Leek

Paul Droudis

Russell Billingham

Pru Birmingham

Rama Webster

Shane Ellsmore

Martin Lindfield


Cory Molen

Sean Webber

Steven Yates

Daniel Berry

Karen Ferguson

Kathy Gregson

Alison Quinn

Michael Wright

Warren Elliott

Fiona Given

Jayme Paris

Eileen Radley

Jaqueline Freney

Damien Burroughs

Greg Miller

Denise Beckwith

Lucy Williams

Katherine Proudfoot

CPSARA members who have received awards for recognition in their sport

Young Australian of the Year Liverpool area & Australia Day Sports award: Stephen Gregson

Kathy Gregson Australia Day Sports award: Jayme Paris

Young Australian of the year Blacktown area & Australia Day Sports award: Pru Birmingham

Australia Day Merit award (Manly area): Kristy Pond

Young Australian of the Year (Parramatta area): Russell Billingham

Australia Day award (Orange area):  Alison Quinn

OAM Order Australia Medal: Peter Leek, Margaret Gregson, Allan Gregson


CPSARA Patrons and Life Members

Mike Gibson, Dawn Fraser AC, MBE, Darren Clarke, Paul Wade
Life Members: Margaret Gregson OAM and Allan Gregson OAM, Judy Webber, Bill Gurney, Brian Berry, Heather Berry, Nicki Ashton

Young Endeavour 033.JPG